Arthur Koelle Tournament

A Group

After the Chess Club committee met and decided to be cautious and maintain the Club lockdown, it was agreed that the Koelle tournaments would be played on-line. As a result, a number of players who would otherwise not be able to play were able to enter.
16 players signed up for the Koelle 'A', including a remarkable 8 former Club Champions! Another 16 players entered the Koelle 'B'.

Round 1

In the 'A' group, Scott Stewart faced Jamie Brotheridge in a very sharp Morra Gambit that smouldered to a draw after a lively game. Joel Beggs versus James Watson was a Sicilian Dragon. Having won a pawn, James blundered a piece late in the game to gift Joel the point. Ben Naughton took on Bas van Riel in a Pirc. A complicated manoeuvring game ensued. Ben failed to grab his chances and then dropped his Queen and resigned on the spot. Veteran Patrick Cook faced 12 year old newcomer Adeepa Keerthiratne in a Kings Indian Averbakh. The youngster completely outplayed the old bloke, before a moments inattention allowed Patrick to pull off a nifty swindle. Junior Leonard Goodison versus Kevin Perrin was an Italian Game. With excellent play, Leonard built up a winning position, before a slip squandered his advantage. He then spurned a repetition and tragically crashed to defeat. Andrew Vincent met Sean Macak in a Benoni (of sorts). Sean won convincingly with direct, forcing play. 3 players, Rob Loveband, Gary Voight, and Ruari Coffey, took a half point bye, while James Eldridge was not paired.
In the 'B' group, games went pretty much as expected. One curiosity was the game Kanishk Mahasuar versus Ishan Madugamuwa. The game ended abruptly with a resignation by White. Kanishsk insisted  that he hadn't resigned. It was clear from the final position that White was about to give mate. The arbiters ruled in favour of Kanishk. Anna Yates versus Lashen Jayaweera was postponed.

Tournament Information

Starts 18/6/20
Format: 7 round swiss
Time Control: 60 minutes each plus 30 second increment
Divisions: 2 separate sections - Group A for players with ACF ratings of 1000 or more – Group B for other players. Unrated players will receive assigned ratings. There will only be one Group if there are less than 24 entries received
No prizes or entry fees. All players must be current full or online members. Games will not be ACF rated but will be rated
Entries Close: 4.00 pm Thursday 18th June – please respond by return email or at News on early to help with set-up
Half point Byes: Available in rounds 1 to 5 – requests to Kevin or Jasan by 4.00pm each Thursday
Pairings: The intention is to advise pairings at News and by email by 5.00pm each Thursday. Pairings will be completed using Vega Weekly games: Play will start at 7.30pm. The player with the white pieces will challenge their opponent on – take care to get colour and time control correct
Tournament Director Group A: Kevin Perrin telephone 0418 533 517 email
Tournament Director Group B: Jasan Barnett telephone 5339 9458 email

Get moving! Register your intention to play here now!

Mr. Arthur Koelle was Victorian Junior champion in 1968 at 14, Country Victorian champion in the same year, and Club champion, also in 1968 as well as 1969. Most of these achievements are age records to this day! He went on to win the Australian Junior championship in 1971. Arthur has been living in Germany since 1982 and competed in the famous Bundesliga club competition, mixing it with experienced grandmasters, up until the mid-1990’s when work commitments became more pressing. Due to rising numbers of participants the original round robin format for the A Grade has now become a Swiss tournament, while the B and C Grade tournaments' format depends on the number of entries. The inaugural tournament was held in 2011.