Arthur Koelle Tournament

2023 Champion: James Watson
Reserves Winner: Kanishk Mahasuar

A Group

James Watson and Kanishk Mahasuar receive their medals and prizes for winning the A grade and Reserves section of the 2023 Koelle Tournament

Final Round 7

Only four games were played in the final round. James Watson, a full point ahead going in, out-manoeuvred a well-performing Paul Marko in the late middle-game and ended the tournament at 6.5 points, two points ahead of the field. Rob was absent but still finished second on 4.5 points as fellow runners up, Bas and Justin both lost their last round games. Patrick took full advantage of a blunder by Bas on move 30 to force a resignation from Black. and Justin fell to the enigmatic Harrison. In the Reserves, Kanishk Mahasuar also finished 2 points ahead of the nearest competitor, with a marvellous picket-fence win, 7 of 7! He will undoubtedly be a serious contender in next year's A grade event.

Round 6

In Round 6 James cemented his spot at the top with a win against Justin, while the other 2 people a point behind him scrabbled to keep in with a chance. Rob beat Bas after time trouble caused Bas to make a sub-optimal move, and that puts him a point behind James on 4.5, with one round to go. Kanishk continued winning, taking another point, this time from Lucas, building a picket fence on his way to the top.

Round 5

Round 5 was a round of very short games on the top boards: James as black made short work of Bas who went astray in the opening. Harrison fell foul to a mating attack in the opening, prompted by several weird moves trying to 'make a word', and Paul was mated by Kevin in another miniature. In the Reserves, Kanishk continued in fine form to defeat Shanaya, and Lucas overturned Nigel in an upset.

Round 4

No surprises this round. James defeated Paul in a nice game - Paul dropped the ball on move 18, allowing James to swap a Q for 2 R, followed up by a lovely pawn push sacrifice which if taken would gain access to both his rooks to the 8th rank. After avoiding that quick death, Black was overwhelmed after White's pieces all ganged up nicely on the pinned Bishop.

Round 3

Harrison, Bas and James all down only a half point after three rounds. Bas was not quite able to convert the slight advantage of having both bishops into a win against Paul D. Upsets included Justin beating Patrick, Declan overcoming Vipin, and Paul M getting the point from Kevin. Kanishk and Trevor at the top of the leaderboard in the Reserves.

Round 2

After the second round only one player has taken all the points available, Bas van Riel, after defeating the rising Justin Goodison, now has his head above the ramparts! Paul drew against Harrison who employed his trademark ‘word’ opening, and Patrick held off Jordan for a half point, too.

Round 1

The first round of the Koelle Tournament was played on Thursday night with 18 players in the A grade and 21 in the Reserves. Top seed and Club champion, James Watson, drew with Jamie Brotheridge, and in the Reserves Dan Rolls also held Tom Oppenheim to a draw.

Come along next week to join in, even if you were unable to play last week. See arbiters Peter or Anna, and register before 7pm if possible. If you are registered and know you will be there but late, please contact Peter on  0408115778 or Anna 0409418405, to ensure a spot on the night.

Enter your games at Chessmicrobase

Mr. Arthur Koelle was Victorian Junior champion in 1968 at 14, Country Victorian champion in the same year, and Club champion, also in 1968 as well as 1969. Most of these achievements are age records to this day! He went on to win the Australian Junior championship in 1971. Arthur has been living in Germany since 1982 and competed in the famous Bundesliga club competition, mixing it with experienced grandmasters, up until the mid-1990’s when work commitments became more pressing. Due to rising numbers of participants the original round robin format for the A Grade has now become a Swiss tournament, while the B and C Grade tournaments' format depends on the number of entries. The inaugural tournament was held in 2011.