57th Club Championships 2022

2022 Reserves Champion:

Reserves Group
C Group

This year there will be a composite B & C grade tournament which will be played as a 9 round swiss. The C grade champion will be the best performing player with a rating of 700 or less. We started with 15 players, but expect further players will be added to this tournament over the 9 weeks.

Enter your games at Chessmicrobase


The A group plays for the Andy Miitel Championship trophy, the B group for John Baynham Reserves title, and the C group for the John Abson Tournament title, renamed in 2019. Andy Miitel was a former club president who was instrumental in revitalising and reconstituting the club in the mid nineteen sixties. John Baynham was an important club administrator in the late sixties and early seventies, and John Abson was a stalwart of the club until health issues recently hampered his attendance.